Be careful what you say around the children


My 4-year-old grandson Baxter, with whom I’ve shared many a deep conversation on life, has asked his Nana:

“What’s the matter with Granddad.”

As he learns more about the complexities of language, he finally noticed something was wrong with my stroke-addled speech. And so the last bastion of normal conversation with Baxter, for me at least, had ended.

The effect of a stroke now had one more victim, and then future conversations between us will be tainted with his knowledge that I don’t speak properly.

I have one recourse for continuing unbridled conversation – my other grandson, Arthur, is almost two, and is just forming his first sentences.

He needs someone to talk to.

And so do I.

-30-

Connected reading:

7 responses to “Be careful what you say around the children

  1. You’ve got quite cute grandkids Lou. I imagine if you’re anything like other grandparents of your generation they make you happier than a pig in sh*t. It took me a while to get used to my parents and my carers not actually caring about anything else but I’m over it now

  2. Pingback: URL

  3. It’ll take your little one some time to adjust to the fact that you speak differently than everyone else models speech to him. But your conversations might not end – he may surprise you. Kids have a much greater ability than adults to recognize and comprehend speech patterns…it’s why it’s best to learn teach kids a second language at a young age. And maintaining a good relationship with you and being able to spend time with you is going to be a powerful motivator for working with you to learn to understand your speech patterns. Don’t give up hope quite yet.

    Your grandkids are adorable, by the way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

