A show of hands for all those turned down for medical research


hands

I got an email from the researchers saying I’m not medical research material.

“I saw the consultant yesterday afternoon and we had a look at the video together. Whilst you are able to complete the grasp release task, we cannot see any evidence of abnormal movement that would indicate you have the level of spasticity needed to fulfil the trial criteria. It would not be beneficial to give someone botulinum toxin injections if there is no clear spasticity as these injections weaken muscles and so would just make your hand weaker if not given appropriately.”

So, no Botox for me then. The reason  I volunteered for medical research was this press release  from The Spasticity Service at the National Hospital for Neurology & Neurosurgery in London:

New research shows that repeated treatments of Botox (botulinum toxin type A) over one year after a stroke can improve muscle tone and reduce pain in the arms and hands, making it easier for patients to dress themselves.

I read it as: miracle cure will help you type better than hen-pecking at the keyboard mostly with your left hand because your right is stroke-affected. It takes me a couple of hours to type a blog entry, some of which is copy editing because I tend to leave out the little words. But that’s the brain which I have to re-train. The right side of my body needs something:

“Unfortunately, we therefore won’t be able to recruit you to the study. I would, however, recommend that you pursue getting a few physio sessions from a neuro physiotherapist as mentioned in your email. A neuro physio would be able to offer you some help with improving the way in which you use your hand and arm and with advising on specific things that you can focus on practicing independently.”

Now I’ve got to find a neuro physio.

One response to “A show of hands for all those turned down for medical research

  1. It looks like I’m being given up too after one sesssion of botox last year. Perhaps it’s true that my left hand isn’t doing better on the post tests. My next appointment is next month and I’m not really sure what to hope for. The spastic toes that curl under certainly won’t be given help if it remains Australian government poilcy to only fund botox injections for the upper limb!

Leave a Reply

